top of page

OVERCOMING STRUGGLES WITH LACY

To have expectations is normal, but those expectations that we have may not always result in the way we wanted it to be. So, what we can do is to think of the worst possibility that may happen, and instead of being afraid of it, we should accept that what could happen may happen. If we realize that, instead of stressing out when it happened, we can take it and continue our life. This is how the Stoicism Theory works, and it makes us accept the worse scenario. And these are LACY’s experience based on Stoicism Theory.


Everyone has their expectations on a lot of things. What I think is the worse possibility for me, may not be for others. When the time came for me to apply to the University of Indonesia, I was lucky to be in the quota for SNMPTN, PPKB, and Talent Scouting, and I was so happy because if I passed, I would not have to go through the test (SIMAK). But, the result said the other way around. I was depressed and kept saying that I have failed. As time goes, I realized that what I think is the worst can be overcome, and I get adjusted by the fact that I did not get into UI, it is not that I won’t get there, but it is just not my time yet. So, I started studying for SIMAK and prepared myself physically and mentally. It all turned out fine, and now I am at the University of Indonesia, studying in Communication Major. (Luthfia)


To think about all the possibility that might happen in our life is not a waste of time but it is not any better than actually living it. Like, I have this experience when I have just graduated from middle school. I applied to 3 different highschool and if there’s an ivy league for highschool level then I might have applied to 1 of the ivy league highschool. I was so pessimistic knowing that if didn’t get in to that school I won’t have the chance to continue my study in University of Indonesia. The thought of that takes over my mind and maybe what people said about the power of the mind is right because I kept thinking I won’t pass and I did. I mean, I didn’t passed the selection. So, I got in to the 2nd school on my options list. It wasn’t bad but my mind keep on telling me that I won’t get in to the ivy league college. But my mom told me that it’s not the end of the world, you can get it if you really want it, just study and put all of your maximum effort also you could take a course. And so I did, I took course and I took TOEFL test and then I also tried the SIMAK test. I wasn’t so sure at first but after the long run in 3 years of highschool plus the add ons I finally made it, I got in to the campus of my dream. (Annisa)


Before I was accepted in communication, my mind already sets to only studied in Amsterdam with an Anthropology major. I was always dreaming about my life would be in Amsterdam and studied Anthropology, which my days would fill with study, study, study, and study. However, there are little though back in my mind that I can not do it now, I need to wait and enroll in Indonesia’s university first to adjust from high school life into university life. So, I tried everything to enrolled Anthropology at the University of Indonesia through SNMPTN, SBMPTN, and SIMAK. The result, I failed. It was stressing days for me because with everything that I had done in high school and months studying had gone wasted. I told myself that perhaps this is not for me. Maybe there will be good things happens that going to happen. I was right. I got accepted in Communication Major, which had a tough competition to get in. (Carissa)

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interview Questions for Mr. Roby Muhammad

Story angle : Balancing family, education, and work. Questions : 1. Do you think it is important to major in a particular study for it to be your work of field? Why? 2. from your experience, being suc

Social Media Benefits for Artist

This new writing that me and my groupmates will be a follow-up from our previous blog which we’ve been doing in less than 2 months. It’s a very fun process where we combined each of our writing about

bottom of page