top of page

OUR BEGINNING IN THE UNIVERSITY OF INDONESIA


Being a university student, especially being a student at the University of Indonesia, who majored in Communication and are in the International Program, it is all new to us. The environment, the activities, and the responsibilities are the things that we need to adapt to ourselves. We realize that it is different than the way things are in High School, we are more obligated to be responsible for ourselves, the class situation and environment is more engaging, and the various events that can help us in many ways. Not all things that are different are wrong, it can actually be better. Yes, we will need some adaptation to it and may not seem right at the beginning, but after knowing what to do and getting used to it, we will all be alright.


In the early weeks, of course, I did not have a lot of confidence because I was not used to speaking and write English in a class all the time. I always admire and felt envy with my friends who write, speak English fluently, could say what in their mind clearly, and did the presentation well. I also did not know well everyone in the class, so I thought everyone has only cared for their own. However, once I get to know everyone in the course, my thought was mistaken. My classmates helped me when I had a tangled mind or gave me guidance to found my idea for my writing assignment. Moreover, someone had told me to enrich the experience as a university student by taking part in the student’s activities. Therefore, I joined several faculty-student activities, which made me improve my skills, know more people in the faculty, and gain several tips from the upper-class. (Carissa)


When I first got into the University of Indonesia, and in the International Program, one of the new things for me is being in an international class. I have never been in a class where I study with foreigners and have to speak and use English for the entire time of the course. It was a bit of a culture shock for me interacting with international students, but at the same time, it is also amazing to see their way of thinking and how it opened up my mind. As time goes, I adapted to the situation of the class by speaking more and not be afraid of my mistakes because, in a way, we are all learning. And now, I am more comfortable to interact with international students and be active in class. I was worried, but now I realize that all that was needed was time. (Luthfia)


Since last August, I have officially become a student at the University of Indonesia. There are a few differences between university and high school life, which I have to adapt to. In high school, I studied from 7 to 4, and I stay in the same classroom every day. While in college, the schedule varies from Monday to Friday, and the class is different for every subject. My responsibility has increased a lot since I get to university. I have to have a good time managing because the lecturers will no longer remind their students every time we have tasks to submit, unlike in high school, when the teachers tell us now and then. I also have to take care of myself and study to get good grades without having to be reminded by my parents anymore. In this phase of my life, as a college student in university life, I am demanded to act and think wisely and act mature. (Yollanda)


University was new to me, and it is a combination of a fun playtime but also a horror movie in real life. Meeting new people is exciting and delightful, getting a unique insight into how they think about stuff. At first, it is exciting because you have haven’t realized that university is not just a playground, but it is something that will matter, and then it hits you. The pressure, the pressure to earn good grades by participating more and more in class and then stressing about your take-home test. But of course that’ sthat’s only it, I learn that we get to choose what type of student we could be. I feel like a university would be better if I’m I’m not just caught up in all this academics stuff, so I decided to try several non-academics events to help me socialize more. And it’ sit’s been helping me to balance my university tendencies now. (Annisa)



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

OVERCOMING STRUGGLES WITH LACY

To have expectations is normal, but those expectations that we have may not always result in the way we wanted it to be. So, what we can do is to think of the worst possibility that may happen, and in

Hello!

bottom of page